Sasha Sloan “Dancing With Your Ghost”

Hannah Harlacher
2 min readJul 5, 2019

--

Genius

Bostonian indie pop singer-songwriter Sasha Sloan released a new single “Dancing With Your Ghost,” that is sure to melt your heart and pull at its strings.

Sloan’s debut single, “Ready Yet,” has now streamed over 25 million times on Spotify, garnering her a substantial following. After a handful of successful singles and EP releases, Sloan’s new sad girl track, “Dancing With Your Ghost,” is sweetly haunted and broken, yet optimistic and insightful.

Some words from Sloan on about “Dancing With Your Ghost.”

“This song is a very very special one for me. Wrote it alone in my bedroom and now it’s here I hope you guys like it.”

The track begins with Sloan’s light humming trills accompanied by bright keys. The tune has a playful sweet pop sound, but is also simple and raw, with a slight folky twang to the vocals.

The chorus comes in heavier, with bass and percussion. The steady beat continues through and carries the track along, with repeating sections, driving home the tracks message of a love lost.

I stay up all night
Tell myself I’m alright
Baby, you’re just harder to see than most
I put the record on
Wait ’til I hear our song
Every night I’m dancing with your ghost
Every night I’m dancing with your ghost

Never got the chance
To say a last goodbye
I gotta move on
But it hurts to try
How do I love, how do I love again?
How do I trust, how do I trust again?

Sasha Sloan — Dancing With Your Ghost (Lyric Video)

Not only does Sloan have an up an coming solo career, she has collaborated on writing songs for well known artists such as, Camila Cabello on tracks “Never Be The Same,” and “OMG.” Sloan also lent her vocals to electronic hits “This Town,” by Kygo and “Falls” by ODESZA. Sloan is credited with writing and features with high profile musicians, such as LANY, Charlie XCX, Steve Aoki, Tinashe, and John Legend.

Her new track, “Dancing With Your Ghost” will also be featured in HBO’s Euphoria.

Sloan is making a name for herself as an established writer and pop artist. Make way for critically acclaimed singer-songwriter Sasha Sloan! Keep an eye out for a full length album in the works?

Listen to more on Amazon Music, Apple Music, and Spotify.

Find out more!

Content support by Billboard, and Idolator, and RCA Records.

--

--